Barristers/Young Attorneys Section


Jessica Gordon portrait

Barristers/Young Attorneys President Jessica G. Gordon has been named one of the Most Influential Women Lawyers by the Los Angeles Daily Journal.  Read more here

Congratulations, Jessica.

Effective October 17, 2018:
Barristers Formally Changes its Name to
Barristers/Young Attorneys Section.

Statement About the Name Change:

Our Executive Committee came to the realization that no one knew what “Barristers” meant when they first heard it, and many would have gotten involved sooner if they had.  We want to encourage new and young lawyers in the community to check us out, and that starts with understanding who we are.

We are the section for young attorneys, under the age of 36, and for attorneys in their first 5 years of practice.  So, we surveyed the bar association landscape and arrived at Barristers/Young Attorneys Section. 

Come enjoy our events while you’re still young!

Jessica G. Gordon, President
LACBA Barristers/Young Lawyers Section


The Barristers/Young Attorneys Section of the Los Angeles County Bar Association (Barristers/Young Attorneys) has been active for over 70 years and continues to bring professional development and opportunity-related services to young lawyers and the Los Angeles County community. If you are a member of LACBA and are younger than 36 years of age or have been admitted to practice for 5 years or less, you qualify as a Barrister.

The mission of Barristers/Young Attorneys is to provide opportunities for new and young lawyers to develop legal skills, build a professional reputation, network beyond each member's workplace and promote public service projects. Barristers/Young Attorneys activities also provide a forum for new and young lawyers to develop leadership skills and to interact with judges, experienced attorneys, as well as other Barristers/Young Attorneys members.

The Daily Journal featured the LACBA Barristers/Young Attorneys officers in an article about our Bench and Bar reception, which took place on January 26, 2017. Article and photo are provided here courtesy of the Daily Journal.





Click here to view the Barristers/Young Attorneys Section Brochure



The application period is now open for the Barristers/YA liaison positions. Applications are due by August 30, 2019 at 11:59 pm. The application form is available at Please feel free to share this with anyone who may be interested.

For more information about the positions available, please review the "Sections Summary" info sheet available at…/1aZDRzvrmVNvod_jP24nlMZyiK…/view…. If you still have questions, please contact

Section resources and documents will be added here as they become available.

Barristers/Young Attorneys Officers and Committees