LACBA Delegation at the 2017 Conference of Delegates


The 2017 Conference was held at the Doubletree by Hilton Sacramento on October 5 through October 8.


March In and Opening Session

Traditionally, the delegations line up outside the ballroom and march in one by one. Delegations play a theme song as they march in; our song was "I Love L.A." by Randy Newman.


The business of the Conference usually begins in the afternoon on a Friday and concludes Sunday at noon. Delegates attend social events in the evenings.


Over 140 resolutions were submitted by attorneys through local bar associations around California for consideration and debate at the 2017 Conference.


Delegates cast their votes.


Congratulations to LACBA Delegate Member and Past Chair Jeffrey W. Erdman, recipient of the LACBA Delegation Charles R. English* Spirit Award, in recognition of being an inspiration to the Los Angeles County Bar Association Delegation and promoting its interests.

The LACBA Delegation's Charles R. English Spirit Award was held in conjunction with the CCBA Chair's Reception and Award's Presentation.


Charlie English defended hundreds of clients during a legal career that spanned 33 years, beginning with a solo legal practice and a decade with the Office of the Public Defender. Mr. English was popular with judges and prosecutors but was a firm advocate of due process guarantees. Although he defended many celebrity clients, he remained humble and generous of spirit throughout his stellar career.


Our delegation knew him best as the perennial host, along with partners Gerry Chaleff and later Paul Catalano, of the Delegation’s hospitality suite, always the favorite among the hospitality suites, at every State Bar Conference through 1992. Despite the time and energy he devoted to manning the suite, Charlie always took his appointment as a Delegate very seriously, venturing often to the conference floor to vote, to negotiate with other delegations, and when it really counted, to speak for the Delegation.

In 1997, Mr. English and Mr. Chaleff were selected as co-recipients of the Spirit Award that was renamed in 1999 to honor his memory