For Attorneys
    For the Public
    About Us
    Counsel For Justice
    Law Students
    My Account

LACBA on Facebook.
LACBA on Twitter.
LACBA on LinkedIn.

Donate to the Counsel for Justice


John H. Brinsley Selected for Los Angeles County Bar's Highest Honor

Michael T. Elliott

John H. Brinsley, partner in the law firm of Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP, has been named the recipient of the Shattuck-Price Memorial Award, the Los Angeles County Bar Association's highest honor. The award will be presented in March of next year at a planned luncheon meeting.

Brinsley has shown extensive dedication to the legal profession through his numerous years of service as LACBA president, officer, board member and head of numerous committees. Brinsley concentrates his practice in complex commercial litigation and has represented a number of major corporations in antitrust cases. Brinsley is a contributing author to Civil Trial Practice (Practicing Law Institute, 1986) and has authored several articles on antitrust law and civil procedure. He also has lectured on these subjects at national and local seminars.

Brinsley received his B.A. and LL.B. degrees from Cornell University in 1958 and 1960, respectively. He was the recipient of the Legal Aid Foundation's 1994 Maynard Toll Award; president of the Los Angeles County Bar Association 1979 - 1980; president, Association of Business Trial Lawyers, 1976 - 1977; chair, 1988 - 1990, Board of Directors, Western Center on Law and Poverty; chair, Antitrust and Trade Regulations Law Section, State Bar of California, 1997. Member: Board of Directors, California Supreme Court Historical Society, 1993-; Fellow: American College of Trial Lawyers; member American Bar Foundation.

The Shattuck-Price Memorial Award was established in 1968 to honor two former Association presidents who died in office, Edward S. Shattuck and Ira M. Price ll. The Association's Board of Trustees annually presents the award to an individual who has shown outstanding dedication to the high principles of the legal profession, to the administration of justice and to the progress of the Los Angeles County Bar Association.

Previous recipients of the award include: Charles English, 2000 (awarded posthumously); Donald P. Baker, 1999; Hon. Charles S. Vogel, 1998; Hon. Margaret M. Morrow, 1997; Roy H. Aaron, 1996; John D. Taylor, 1995; Gavin Miller, 1994; Joseph D. Mandel, 1993; John J. Quinn, 1992; Patricia D. Phillips, 1991; Matthew S. Rae, Jr., 1990; Robert S. Warren, 1989; Samuel L. Williams, 1988; Jack Stutman, 1987; Stuart L. Kadison, 1986; Francis M. Wheat, 1985; Shirley Hufstedler, 1984; G. William Shea, 1983; Sharp Whitmore, 1982; Warren Christopher, 1981; A. Stevens Halsted, Jr., 1980; Hon. William P. Gray, 1979; Justice Bernard S. Jefferson, 1978; Leonard S. Janofsky, 1977; Seth M. Hufstedler, 1976; Hon. Robert W. Kenny, 1975; Maynard J. Toll & Charles E. Beardsley, 1974; Joseph A. Ball, 1973; Herman F. Selvin, 1972; Hon. Stanley Barnes, 1971; Frank B. Belcher, 1970; and Irving Walker, 1969.

Los Angeles County Bar Association (LACBA) is the largest local voluntary bar association in the nation with a membership of 25,000+ attorneys. The County Bar is extensively engaged in advancing the administration of justice, and meeting the professional needs of the legal community. For more information on LACBA, visit www.lacba.org