HOME MEMBERSHIP CALENDAR JUDICIAL COUNCIL 

FORMS KNOW YOUR 

JUDGES DAILY 

EBRIEFS LA LAWYER




    For Attorneys
    For the Public
    About Us
    Jobs
    Counsel For Justice
    Law Students
    My Account


LACBA on Facebook.
LACBA on Twitter.
LACBA on LinkedIn.



 

Los Angeles Lawyer
The Magazine of the Los Angeles County Bar Association


 
 

May 2006      MCLE Test and Answer Sheet

Test Number 148: Days of Our Lives

 
 

Instructions for Obtaining MCLE Credit

The Los Angeles County Bar Association certifies that this activity has been approved for Minimum Continuing Legal Education credit by the State Bar of California in the amount of 1 hour. To apply for credit, please follow the instructions.

1. Study the CLE article.

2. Answer the test questions by marking the appropriate boxes. Each question has only one answer.

3. Photocopies of this answer sheet may be submitted; however, this form should not be enlarged or reduced. Mail the answer sheet and the $15 testing fee ($20 for non-LACBA members) to:

Los Angeles Lawyer
MCLE Test
P.O. Box 55020
Los Angeles, CA 90055 

Make checks payable to Los Angeles Lawyer.

4. You can also fill in the test form and submit it directly to LACBA by clicking "Submit." To submit your test answers online you will need to pay by credit card. After submitting your answers you will be presented with a screen requesting payment information. This information will be submitted in a secure mode which will allow you to safely transmit your credit card number over the Internet. If you prefer not to pay by credit card, please print this answer sheet and submit your responses by regular mail.

5. Within six weeks, Los Angeles Lawyer will return your test with the correct answers, a rationale for the correct answers, and a certificate verifying the CLE credit you earned through this self-assessment activity.

6. For future reference, please retain the CLE test materials returned to you.

 
  Test Sheet
 
 

Mark your answers to the test by clicking next to your choice.  All questions must be answered.  Each question has only one answer. This test is worth 1 hour of ethics credit.*

1. By complying with provisions in a collective bargaining agreement, motion picture and television producers do not have to worry about complying with California's unique wage and hour laws.
 True.
 False.

2. An employer cannot require production workers to bring their own tools to the set unless the workers are paid at least:
A. Minimum wage.
B. $25,000 per year.
C. Union scale.
D. Twice the minimum wage.

3. The wage and hour laws allow producers to use unpaid interns so long as they are either active students or have graduated from college within two years of their hire date.
 True.
 False.

4. Individuals may be held personally liable for wage and hour violations under federal law.
 True.
 False.

5. A production company only has to pay overtime based upon a worker's hourly rate.
True.
False.

6. A unionized employer will be exempt from California's requirements to pay daily overtime if the collective bargaining agreement provides for 1) wages, hours, and working conditions, 2) a regular rate of pay that is at least 30 percent above California's minimum wage, and 3) some type of premium for all overtime hours worked.
 True.
 False.

7. Wage Order 12, which governs motion picture and television production, contains an exemption for anyone appearing on screen.
 True.
 False.

8. When an employee is terminated for misconduct, the employer must provide the employee's final paycheck:
A. Within one week of the date of termination.
B. Within three days of the date of termination.
C. On the next regularly scheduled payday.
D. On the employee's last day of work.

9. Unionized production companies may have more flexibility in adopting meal and break periods than nonunionized production companies.
 True.
 False.

10. A worker only can seek relief for wage and hour violations against the entity that pays payroll taxes on the worker's behalf.
 True.
 False.

11. The entertainment industry is subject to the same rules and regulations as other types of businesses.
 True.
 False.

12. A nonunion production company may compel employees to have "on duty" meal periods if the nature of the work prevents an employee from being relieved of all duty.
 True.
 False.

13. Nonunion production companies must provide a 10-minute paid break period for every four hours of working time.
 True.
 False.

14. Federal and state law recognize exemptions for workers who are considered artistic professionals.
 True.
 False.

15. A unionized production company is subject to exactly the same obligations to pay daily overtime as a nonunionized production company.
 True.
 False.

16. To fall within an exemption for artistic professionals, a worker must either be a professional actor or an artist.
 True.
 False.

17. California law requires that overtime be paid to a nonexempt worker only when the worker exceeds 40 hours in any given workweek.
 True.
 False.

18. Under certain circumstances, a unionized worker's wage and hour claims may be preempted by federal labor law.
 True.
 False.

19. A production company may defend a wage and hour action by proving that its payroll practices comply with "industry standards."
 True.
 False.

20. The minimum wage in California is currently:
A. $5.15 per hour.
B. $6.75 per hour.
C. $7.25 per hour.
D. $5.75 per hour.

Address and Billing
After submitting your answers you will be asked to enter your name, address, and payment information on the next screen. Once you have submitted the current form, you will be switched to a secure mode which will allow you to safely transmit your credit card number over the Internet.
If you do not wish to complete this transaction over the Internet you should print this page and send it to the address listed in Step 3 of the instructions at the top of this page.
 
Before clicking the Submit button, please verify that all questions have been answered. An error message will appear if not all questions are answered.

* The Los Angeles County Bar Association has been approved as a continuing legal education provider of Minimum Continuing Legal Education credit by the State Bar of California. This self-assessment activity will qualify for Minimum Continuing Legal Education credit by the State Bar of California in the amount of one hour.

 


 
   
 

Copyright 2006, Los Angeles Lawyer magazine. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

 


   
Los Angeles Lawyer
 
 
 
 
       
   
General Information
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
       
   
 
 
 
Online MCLE
 
 
 
 
Plus: Earn MCLE Credit