August 2013 • Vol. 33 No. 8 | An E-Publication of the Los Angeles County Bar Association

Celebration at Dorothy Chandler Pavilion Marks Installation of LACBA President, Officers, and Board of Trustees

Shattuck-Price Outstanding Lawyer Award and Benjamin Aranda III Outstanding Public Service Awards were presented during the evening.

Nearly 500 civic officials, local and state judicial officers, and LACBA members came together at the beautiful Dorothy Chandler Pavilion in downtown Los Angeles on Thursday, June 27, to celebrate the installation of LACBA’s 2013 President Patricia Egan Daehnke, Officers and Board of Trustees.

The evening began with an outdoor reception held just steps away from the Music Center’s iconic water fountain where friends and colleagues had an opportunity to enjoy each other’s company while having refreshing drinks and hors d'oeuvres.

During the Installation Dinner, Los Angeles Police Department Chief Charlie Beck presented LACBA’s highest honor--the Shattuck-Price Outstanding Lawyer Award--to Gerald Chaleff, Special Assistant for Constitutional Policing of the Los Angeles Police Department. He thanked Gerry for his hard work and dedication to creating a more transparent LAPD in the hope of restoring trust and goodwill between the LAPD and the communities it serves.

Several LACBA members were presented with The Honorable Benjamin Aranda III Outstanding Public Service Award for their contributions as volunteers to LACBA’s Public Service Projects: AIDS Legal Services, Domestic Violence Project, and Immigration Legal Assistance, as well as the Center for Civic Mediation.

The awards went to Brian A. Procel, a partner at the boutique litigation firm Miller Barondess, for his work with the AIDS Legal Services Project; Heather Poole, a private immigration lawyer, for her work with the Domestic Violence Project; Dr. Jason Schwartz, Law Offices of Jason J. Schwartz, for his work on behalf of the Immigration Legal Assistance Project; and Shirlee Fuqua for her work on behalf of the Center for Civic Mediation.

Past Presiding Judge of the Los Angeles Superior Court and former LACBA President, the Honorable Lee Smalley Edmon, swore in Tricia as President as well as the Officers and Trustees, along with Mark Kressel as Barristers President and the Barristers executive committee.

In her first official speech as LACBA President, Tricia thanked her family, friends, and colleagues for their support. She also outlined her priorities for her term as president including: LACBA’s continued support of the Los Angeles Superior Court during its budget crisis, the need to financially support and fund critical pro bono legal services, examining the issue of gender pay equity and the retention of women in the legal profession, and helping law school graduates enter the workforce.

During the dinner a moment of silence was held in honor of Samuel L. Lipsman, Director of Publications, and Editor and Publisher of the Los Angeles County Bar Association’s award-winning Los Angeles Lawyer magazine since 1991, who passed away on June 13, 2013, after a seven-month battle with cancer.

Following the dinner, guests met in the bar for the after party for cocktails, desserts, and coffee to congratulate LACBA’s new officers, trustees, and each of the award winners.

Among the civic and judicial dignitaries who attended the Installation Dinner were U.S. Attorney Andre Birotte, City Attorney Mike Feuer, Controller Ron Galperin, Los Angeles Superior Court Assistant Presiding Judge Carolyn Kuhl, and Los Angeles County Sheriff Lee Baca, among others. 

Members of the legal community also turned out to support LACBA including President of the State Bar of California Pat Kelly, President-Elect of the State Bar of California Louis Rodriguez, President & CEO of Public Counsel Hernan Vera, and Executive Director of the LA Law Library Sandra Levin.

(See photos below.) 


  2013-14 LACBA officers: Margaret P. Stevens, vice president; Linda Curtis, president-elect; Patricia Egan Daehnke, president; and Paul Kiesel, senior vice president (from left). 

  Patricia Egan Daehnke, 2013-14 president; Gerald Chaleff, Shattuck-Price Outstanding Lawyer Award recipient; and Richard Burdge, immediate past president (from left) 

  Recipients of the Hon. Benjamin Aranda III Outstanding Public Service Awards were Shirlee Fuqua, Center for Civic Mediation; Brian A. Procel, AIDS Legal Services Project; Heather L. Poole, Domestic Violence Project; and Dr. Jason Jay Schwartz, Immigration Legal Assistance Project (from left). 

  LACBA outstanding service awards were presented to Joan Mack, Outstanding Committee Service/Ethics Committee; Lynette Berg Robe, Outstanding Section Leader/Family Law; and Michael K. Lindsey, Outstanding Trustee (from left). 

  Mark Kressel received the Barristers President's Award from outgoing Barristers President Andrew Dhadwal (at right). 

  Good company, good food, good conversation

  Danette Meyers (center) and Pat Kelly (right) congratulate Patricia Egan Daehnke. Both Meyers and Kelly are former LACBA Presidents, and Kelly is the current State Bar President.

  Hernan Vera, President/CEO, Public Counsel, and Sally Suchil, LACBA Executive Director, take a moment to say hello.

  The after-party following the dinner provided guests with an opportunity to share one last conversation. 

© 2013 Los Angeles County Bar Association  •  Disclaimer and Proprietary Notice
Privacy Policy • •  Contact  •  Sitemap