June/July 2012 • Vol. 32 No. 6 | An E-Publication of the Los Angeles County Bar Association

Hon. Audrey B. Collins Receives LACBA's Outstanding Jurist Award

The Honorable Audrey B. Collins, Chief Judge of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California, received LACBA's 2012 Outstanding Jurist Award at a May 11 luncheon at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles. In addition to honoring Judge Collins, new 50 Year Club members were inducted during the program in recognition of a half-century of LACBA membership: Eric Arthur Ashton Sr., Sheldon S. Baker, Frederick Barak, Janyce K. Blair, Edward Blau, Ralph Cassady, Hillel Chodos, John J. Collins, Robert Louis Finkel, Don B. Finkelstein, David A. Gill, Herman L. Glatt, Eugene R. Grace, Jerry F. Halverson, Philip D. Irwin, Claire D. Johnson, Robert L. Kern, Charles M. Levy, Robert F. Lewis, Philip S. Magaram, Ovvie Miller, Irwin R. Monroe, Richard M. Norman, Berne Rolston, David G. Waller, and Barry R. Weiss. (See photos from the luncheon below.)


  Speakers at the luncheon included LACBA President Eric Webber, Evan Jenness, Mary Carter Andrues, Judge Christina Snyder, Judge Collins, and former Los Angeles District Attorney Gil Garcetti (from left). 

  LACBA President Eric Webber presents the award, a bust of Solomon, to Judge Collins.

  Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa delivers a commendation to Judge Collins from the City of Los Angeles.

  50 Year Club member Sheldon S. Baker

  50 Year Club member Robert Louis Finkel

  50 Year Club member Ovvie Miller

  Past recipients joining Judge Collins before the luncheon include (top row from left) Justice Walter Croskey, Justice Norman Epstein, Justice Earl Johnson Jr. (ret.), Judge Margaret Morrow, Judge Collins, and Judge Judith Chirlin (ret.).

  Justice Candace Cooper (ret.), a past recipient, congratulates Judge Collins.

  Presiding Judge Lee Smalley Edmon, Los Angeles Superior Court, greets Judge Collins at the reception.

  LACBA President-Elect Richard Burdge Jr. (far left) and LACBA Executive Director Sally Suchil (second from right) join Gil Garcetti, Judge Collins, Mayor Villaraigosa, and Eric Webber.

© 2012 Los Angeles County Bar Association  •  Disclaimer and Proprietary Notice
Privacy Policy •  Questions@lacba.org •  Contact  •  Sitemap