LACBA on Facebook.
LACBA on Twitter.
LACBA on LinkedIn.

Table of Contents    Cover    Featured Article

President's Page

It Has Been an Honor

More than ever, I am convinced that this Association can and does make a difference 

By Lee Smalley Edmon
Lee Smalley Edmon is president of the Association.

This President's Page was originally published in the June 1999 issue of
Los Angeles Lawyer.

I will never forget this year. We have made great strides in training young lawyers, improving our courts, raising money for minority applicants to local law schools, speaking out for the interests of lawyers, providing free legal services to members of our community who need a lawyer, creating online services that will make it easier for you to do your job, drafting guidelines regarding disclosures that should be made by private judges to parties, and moving to more accessible and functional offices. And that's just to mention a few of the activities that have occupied our time. More than ever, I am convinced that this Association can and does make a difference. 

We have also attempted to do our part to ensure that the Association will continue to make that difference. After consulting with lawyers throughout our community, as well as our own section officers and trustees, we are close to adopting a vision statement and goals for the future to ensure that this Association continues to respond to the ever-changing needs of our profession. Moreover, I leave you in the very capable hands of your new president, Patricia Schnegg, and an executive committee with which it has been an absolute delight to work. 

The time and effort I spent on behalf of the Association over the last year were more than compensated for by the warm and lasting friendships I developed with so many lawyers. Most memorable were those who were willing to make selfless contributions of their time, energy, and creativity in the name of improving our profession and benefiting our community under the banner of this Association. In addition, there were many more who could not actively participate but offered words of support, and sometimes constructive criticism, for which I will forever be grateful. And throughout my many years as an active participant in the Association, the one constant has been the remarkable staff without which we could not begin to have accomplished half of what we have done. I would like to thank all of you listed below-and many more as well. Finally, to Rich Walch, the finest bar executive in the country, I hope you know how much I value all you have done to keep us on track and, more importantly, your friendship. 

I have always been proud to be a Los Angeles County Bar Association member, and now I am very grateful that you have let me serve you in this position for the past year. 

Think where man's glory most begins and ends,and say my glory was I had such friends.-W.B. Yeats 

Aaron Marilyn Alper Don Mike Anthony Peter Appleton John Argue Steve Bacon Chuck Bakaly Don Baker Charles Barquist Catherine Barrad Jane Barrett Brenda Barton Patrice Barton Hon. James Bascue Terry Bates Teresa Beaudet Ron Beard Lori Behar Helen Bendix Leon Bennett Pat Benson Cary Berger Lisa Berger Richard Berger Myles Berman Michael Bierman Bill Bilderback Terry Bird Max Blecher Hon. Paul Boland Mark Borenstein Terry Bork Brent Braun Bruce Broillet Gabrielle Brumbach Dick Burdge John Brinsley Scott Brutocao Hon. Sam Bufford Jean Burch Gina Calvelli John Carson Cecily Cashman John Cermak Gerry Chaleff Hon. Victor Chavez Richard Chernick Pamela Chin Laura Christa Bertrand Christian Morgan Chu Al Chua Jack Clarke Richard Clements Harold Cohn Roland Coleman John Collins Hon. Florence-Marie Cooper Bruce Cooperman Kim Corpuz Maria Cousineau Paul Crane Hon. Larry Crispo Brian Currey Patricia Egan Daehnke Frank Damon Don Daucher Deborah David Patrick DeCarolis Tom Dempsey Maurice Destouet Katrina Dewey Gus Diaz Howard Dicker Pat Dixon Lara Drino Pat Duncan Pam Dunn Gregory Docimo Anne Egerton Charlie English Steve English Hon. Norman Epstein David Evans Erich Everbach Bob Fairbank Murray Falk Laura Farber Stan Farrar Larry Feldman James Felton Michael Fields Ellen Finkelberg Donna Everett Ford Jay Ford Ernestine Forrest Rhonda Francis Paul Freese Tom Freiberg Hon. Terry Friedman Vicki Freimann Cynthia Fruchtman Richard Fybel Gil Garcetti Tom Garvin Peter Gelles Russell Ginise Tim Glassett Steve Gold Stan Goldich Gigi Gordon Jaime Gorman Clark Gross Mark Gillett Ellen Greenstone Lisa Greer Carmen Hawkins Prof. Warren Grimes Dan Grunfeld Elliott Hahn Rex Heeseman Rex Heinke Mike Hennigan David Hoffman Andre Holmes Patricia Holt Hon. David Horowitz Brian Huben William Hsu Seth Hufstedler Bryan Jackson Larry Jackson Burchell Jacobs Judy Jacobson John Joannes Barbara Yanow Johnson Hon. Jane Johnson Andy Jones Martha Jordan Michael Judge Jo Kaplan Diane Karpman Pat Kelly Hon. David Kenyon Tim Kevane Jeffrey Kichaven Judy Kim Margret Kim Karen King Dena Kleeman Steve Kleifield Joel Kleinberg Joe Kornowski Marcia Kraft Paul Krekorian Miriam Krinsky John Kronstadt Rhea Lamia Stan Lamport Karen Lash Gracie Lee Gail Lees Rod Leonard Chris Leong Laurie Levenson Maggie Levy Larry Liebenbaum Sam Lipsman Greg Long Lloyd Loomis Tomas Lopez Ron Low Richard Macias Joe Mandel Hon. Stephen Marcus Victor Marmon Sharon Matsumoto Edith Matthai Marc Mayer Linda Mazur Hon. Veronica McBeth Patrick McDonough Malissa McKeith Robin Meadow Robyn Meinhardt Julia Metzger Michael Meyer Danette Meyers Vicki Michel Neal Millard John Morrissey Randy Morrow Hon. Margaret Morrow Sam Muir Tom Myers Wanda Myers Hon. Michael Nash Hon. Richard Neal Geitas Nefas Gretchen Nelson Dianne Neill Mark Neubauer David Newman Karen Nobumoto Hon. Robert O'Brien David O'Keefe Fred Okrand A. John Olvera Andrea Ordin Ron Oster Jim Otto Ellen Pansky Jeff Parker Hon. Robert Parkin David Pasternak John Patton Ellen Peck Winston Peters Linda Peterson Pat Phillips Jay Plotkin Marc Poster Jack Quinn Sandy Rae Cherie Raidy Karen Randall Roger Reynolds Kent Richland Martha Romero Alan Rothenberg Toby Rothschild Gerald Sallus Marc Sallus Cynthia Schein Pamela Schmidt Patty Schnegg Paul Sczudlo Sharon Seibert Robert Siegel Irene Silverman Shelly Sloan Marilee Snell Lynn Soodik Hon. Phil Soto Bob Span Barbara Spillman Mike Stein Alan Steinbrecher David Stepp Linda Stude Sally Suchil Brian Sun Jeff Tidus Bert Tigerman Tom Unterman John Vandevelde Carlton Varner Hugo Vital Hon. Miriam Vogel Hon. Chuck Vogel Rich Walch Jack Walker Malcolm Weiss Mark Weiss Jess Womack Roberta Yang Jan Yoss Laurie Zelon Dean Ziehl Juliet Zita 

Los Angeles Lawyer
General Information
Online MCLE
Plus: Earn MCLE Credit