August 2009 • Vol. 29 No. 7 | An E-Publication of the Los Angeles County Bar Association

  2009-10 Foundation officers are (from left) Noah Graff, vice president/treasurer; Brian Condon, president; Laura Seigle, secretary; and Linda Allerdice, president-elect. Susan Sullivan, senior vice president, is not shown.   

Foundation Installs New Officers, Directors

At its Annual Members Meeting/Board of Directors Meeting luncheon at The City Club on June 23, the Foundation elected and installed the following officers for 2009-10: Brian Condon, president; Linda Auerbach Allderdice, president-elect; Susan Koehler Sullivan, senior vice president; Noah Graff, vice president/treasurer; and Laura Seigle, secretary. In addition, representatives from two organizations that received Foundation grants in 2009—Tobi Inlender, executive director, Dispute Resolution Services Inc., and Jim Preis, executive director, Mental Health Advocacy Services Inc.—spoke about the important work performed by their programs.

Foundation members elected the following new directors for three-year terms ending June 30, 2012: Casey Fleck, Lynn Levitan, Douglas Rawles, and Michael Wise.

Re-elected for three-year terms ending June 30, 2012 are Peter Hsiao (Life Fellows representative), Jason Komorsky, Sarretta McDonough, Avisha Patel, Kalia Petmecky, and Laura Seigle. Greg Evans, who was appointed after last year’s Annual Meeting and has already served a one-year term, was elected to a two-year term ending June 30, 2011.

Stuart Ogg was elected to fill a current vacancy on the board for a one-year term ending June 30, 2010.

Two individuals were appointed to the board subsequent to the meeting: Jana Lubert for a three-year term ending June 30, 2012, and Mark Kachner (Barristers Fellow Representative) for a one-year term ending June 30, 2010.

The following individuals were recognized for pledging/attaining Honor Roll or Fellow donor status during the 2008-09 fiscal year:

Honor Roll: Friend ($5,000 minimum)—Danette Meyers, Rebecca Torrey, and Eric Webber and Gerard Kraaijeveld.

Life Fellow ($2,500 minimum)—Su-Lyn Combs, Bryant Delgadillo, Brian Holman, Patrick Hunnius, David Hunter, Jason Komorsky, Stuart Ogg, Avisha Patel, Thomas Reichert, Margaret Stevens, and Kimberly Talley.

Barristers Fellow ($500 minimum)—Cameron Fox, Alexander Gareeb, James Gilliam, Patricia Klemic, and Bonita Moore.

This past May, the directors voted to award 25 grants totaling $172,300. Grants were awarded to the following LACBA-operated projects: Dispute Resolution Services Inc.—School Peer Mediation and Conflict Resolution Program; Barristers AIDS Legal Services Project; Barristers Domestic Violence Project; and Immigration Legal Assistance Project.

Grants were also awarded to 21 other programs serving Los Angeles County:

1736 Family Crisis Center—Legal Services Project
Catholic Charities of Los Angeles—Esperanza Immigrant Rights
Centinela Youth Services—Victim/Offender Restitution Services (VORS)
Central American Resource Center (CARECEN)—Legal Services Project
Christian Legal Aid of Los Angeles
Coalition to Abolish Slavery & Trafficking (CAST)
Disability Rights Legal Center—Pro Bono Program
El Rescate Legal Services
Harriett Buhai Center for Family Law
Healthcare & Elder Law Programs Corp. (HELP)—Better Endings Project
Inner City Law Center
International Rescue Committee
Jenesse Center, Inc.—Legal Services Program
L.A. Gay & Lesbian Center—Legal Services Department
Levitt & Quinn Family Law Center, Inc.
Long Beach Bar Foundation—SHORTSTOP Program
Los Angeles Center for Law & Justice—Housing Unit
Loyola Law School—Center for Juvenile Law & Policy
Mental Health Advocacy Services, Inc.
My Friend’s Place—Legal Services Program
Sunday Free Legal Clinic

The Foundation is able to make these grants only through the generosity of individuals, law firms, corporations, and foundations who respond to the Foundation’s annual direct mail appeal and those LACBA members who respond to the request for $35 that appears on the annual LACBA dues statement. Your gift really does make a difference!

The LACBF Board of Directors would like to express special thanks to all LACBA members who made a donation in response to the solicitation that appeared on LACBA’s 2009 dues statement. The total received was approximately $61,000. Your decision to include a gift with your 2010 dues payment will be greatly appreciated!

To learn more about contributing to the Foundation, including major gifts, pledge programs, installments, or credit card contributions, contact Ivan Price, executive director, at (213) 896-6409, or by e-mail at Information about the Foundation also can be viewed on the LACBA Web page at To make a donation now, click here.


© 2009 Los Angeles County Bar Association  •  Disclaimer and Proprietary Notice
Privacy Policy  •  •  Contact  •  Sitemap