May 2009 • Vol. 29 No. 5 | An E-Publication of the Los Angeles County Bar Association

Hon. Dorothy W. Nelson to Receive Outstanding Jurist Award on May 21

Make your luncheon reservations now.

The Honorable Dorothy W. Nelson, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, will receive LACBA’s 2009 Outstanding Jurist Award at a May 21 luncheon at the Omni Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles. 

LACBA’s Outstanding Jurist Award is presented each year to a current or past member of the federal or state judiciary in Los Angeles County who has made significant contributions from the bench through judicial ability and experience, judicial temperament and demeanor, knowledge of the law, contribution to the improvement or education of the legal community, contribution to the practice of law and the community at large, and education and diligence.

Judge Nelson was nominated by President Jimmy Carter to the Ninth Circuit in late 1979 and took the oath on February 1, 1980. She assumed Senior Judge status in 1995.

Judge Nelson earned her J.D. from UCLA School of Law and later received an LL.M. from USC Law School. She joined the USC faculty in 1957 and became dean of the law school from 1969 to 1980, prior to her appointment to the bench.

Speakers. Speakers at the award luncheon include Judge Raymond C. Fisher, U.S. Court of Appeals; Judge Terry J. Hatter Jr., U.S. District Court; Joseph D. Mandel, former UCLA Vice Chancellor, Legal Affairs (ret.); and Diane Paul, Esq.

50-Year Club. In addition to honoring Judge Nelson, the following new 50-Year Club members will be inducted at the luncheon in recognition of a half-century of LACBA membership: Bruce A. Beckman, Doyle O. Blaney, Raymond A. Bogucki, Robert E. Carlson, Robert Craig, Robert H. Dahl, Richard D. Esbenshade, Jack D. Fine, Jason A. Gottlieb, Alvin G. Greenwald, Willard D. Horwich, Hon. Shirley M. Hufstedler, Fred L. Leydorf, Frederick E. MacArthur, Sidney J. Machtinger, Hon. Christian E. Markey Jr., Arthur Mazirow, Donald H. Mills, Milan Moacanin, Connolly Oyler, William Poms, John J. Quinn Jr., Joseph E. Rawlinson, Joseph Reichmann, Alvin D. Rosenbloom, Ralph J. Shapiro, William H. Snyder, and Paul Wyler.

Find out more about the May 21 luncheon here.

© 2009 Los Angeles County Bar Association  •  Disclaimer and Proprietary Notice
Privacy Policy  •  •  Contact  •  Sitemap